Four new Battle Creek Police Officers will begin road patrol starting this Sunday. In a press release, the Battle Creek Police Department says the officers have completed their field training period and are ready to fulfill their duties. The four officers come from local jurisdictions. Shane Schwartz and Zach Burgess are from Emmett Township and Jeff Johnson and Tom Wirebaugh are from Calhoun County. The BCPD says all four have performed exceptionally with their previous departments and are expected to excel in their new positions.

Meanwhile, the Department is also announcing that Officer Kim Tuyls has been selected as a Warrant Officer. She’s been on the force since 1990 and was the 2010 Officer of the Year.