The Battle Creek Chamber handed out annual awards last week at the KCC Binda Center.   Wirtz Family Popcorn won the award for Battle Creek's top new start-up business.  

The evening recognized the achievements of successful businesses, nonprofits, organizations and industry people in the greater Battle Creek area and the contributions they make to the growth and prosperity of the economy.

The 2015 Emerging Leaders Awards are in recognition of the many young professionals doing extraordinary things in our community.  This year’s 2015 Emerging Leaders are: Clovis Bordeaux, Jason Cain, Jake Eaton, Major Daniel Guy, Megan Russell-Johnson, Samantha Neubert, Atlee McFellin, Jacob Miller, Angela Myers, and Jessica Schmidt. 

Each year the Battle Creek Chamber Foundation’s Silent Observer Committee honors Harley Simmons by presenting an award to recognize an individual who has significantly contributed to the safety and security of citizens in the Battle Creek area.  This year the committee awarded Lyn Liebum.

The Ambassador "STAR" Award (Service, Teamwork, Attitude, Reliability). This award is given to the Ambassador who has consistently excelled in his or her volunteer role; has made outstanding contributions in the area of service and dedication in the Community; has promoted teamwork as a Battle Creek Area Chamber of Commerce Member Ambassador; and who has consistently done so with a positive and forward-thinking attitude.  This year’s Ambassador Star Award went to Sue Smith, Comerica Bank; BJ Etheridge, Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices;  Noris Lindsay, Harrington Real Estate Group

The Small Business of the Year: (25 employees or less) is BluFish Consulting.

The Mid-Size Business of the Year: (26-50 employees) is Schlotzsky’s Deli

The Large Business of the Year: (51 + employees) is DENSO.

The Calhoun Workplace Wellness Recognition Award was established to recognize local companies and organizations that have outstanding workplace wellness strategies intended to promote the well-being and health of their employees.  Each nominee is evaluated on the type, number, scope and the method of delivery of their wellness activities as well as benefits offered to their employees. This year’s winner was both the City of Battle Creek and the Calhoun County Government.

The Randall Brock Memorial Award recognizes an outstanding minority owned business or entrepreneur in honor of the late Randall Brock. This year’s award winner is Dr. Steven Robinson.