Can You Legally Go 10 MPH Over Speed Limit In Michigan?
The old saying, "nine your fine, ten your mine" has been around forever. Is that a legit statment when it comes to police pulling people over for speeding in Michigan? Last I knew a speed limit was exactly that, a "limit".
I have repeated the statement "nine your fine, ten your mine" countless times in my driving career. Sadly I haven't been that lucky when it comes to getting tickets. I have had a couple of speeding tickets in my life. In my personal experience "nine your fine" doesn't work to my favorr and it most likely won't work for you either.
If you want to avoid some serious fines and points on your license you should follow the law, the Michigan Department of Transportation says going over the limit is gonna land ya in trouble:
It is not legal to go 5 miles over the speed limit. A driver who violates Michigan speed limit laws is responsible for a civil infraction and faces up to a $100 fine, points on his or her driver’s license, and up to $100 in court costs.
Generally, the fine for the civil infraction of speeding cannot be more than $100.00.
The points that speeding driver may get on his or her driver’s license include:
More than 15 mph over the speed limit (as set by law or ordinance): Four (4) points.
More than 10 mph and up to 15 mph over the speed limit (as set by law or ordinance): Three (3) points.
More than 5 mph and up to 10 mph over the speed limit (as set by law or ordinance): Two (2) points.
More than 1 mph and up to 5 mph over the speed limit (as set by law or ordinance): One (1) point.
The answer is no. In fact going over the speeding limit one mile per hour can get you a ticket.