Michigan’s Expired Concealed Pistol License Penalty Could Change
There is a Michigan State Representative who would like to see a Michigan gun owner who is caught with an expired concealed pistol license (CPL or CCW) receive a lighter sentence. House Bill 4434, is sponsored by state Representative Matt Hall, a Republican from Emmett Township.
According to a MLive article, currently carrying a concealed pistol with an expired concealed pistol license (CPL or CCW) is a felony punishable by up to five years’ in prison, a $2,500 fine or both.
State Representative Hall’s House Bill 4434 would make the first offense for this violation a civil fine of $330 if the license had lapsed in the previous year, as long as the person was still eligible for a CPL. House Bill 4434 passed in Michigan’s House 90-19 with widespread bipartisan support.
According to the MLive article:
Under the legislation, if a person obtained a renewal license within 60 business days of the violation, the person wouldn’t have to pay the fine. Subsequent violations in the same year would become a misdemeanor punishable by punishable up to 90 days in prison, a fine of $500 or both.
State Representative Hall stated on the House floor that his legislation was:
common sense criminal justice reform
He went on to say that he believes a felony charge and expensive court case is a hefty punishment for expired paperwork.
State Representative Beau LaFave, a Republican from Iron Mountain, introduced to the House a bill that also passed which would allow a person to transport a loaded shotgun on private property in a car, all-terrain vehicle or four wheeler.
As long as there are no other reasons in which to punish the offender does this not sound like “common sense criminal justice reform” to you?