New State Law Reduces Number of Days to Use Fireworks in Michigan
A new law passed in December greatly reduces the number of days you can use fireworks in Michigan this year. You may want to read this to avoid a fine.
One of the best things about summertime in Michigan is taking in a great fireworks display. Unfortunately, the number of days that we will be able to do that has dropped from 30 days all the way down to only 12 days. Last year, Michigan residents could light them off on the day before, day of, and day after major holidays. Now, the new law limits them to the two days prior to the holiday.
The fine for lighting off your fireworks on non-designated days has also gone up. Last year, you were given a $500 if you were caught. This year, the fine is now $1,000, half of which will go to local law enforcement. If you are going to light of your fireworks, the full list of designated day is below.
- December 31st
- January 1st between 12 am and 1 am.
- The Saturday and Sunday before Memorial Day until 11:45 pm both days.
- June 29th through July 4th until 11:45 pm each day.
- July 5th until 11:45 pm (IF that date is a Friday or Saturday.)
- The Saturday and Sunday before Labor Day until 11:45 pm both days.
Source: ABC 12