Severe T-storm Watch (Brandon James - Townsquare Media)
Severe T-storm Watch (Brandon James - Townsquare Media)

The National Weather Service has extended a Severe Thunderstorm Watch to include the following areas until 1:00am EDT Wednesday. It includes four new counties in addition to the areas already under the watch. In southwest Michigan, Allegan, Barry, Kalamazoo, and Van Buren  counties could see severe weather during the overnight hours. This includes the cities of Allegan, Banfield, Bradley, Covert, Dorr, Dowling, Fennville, Hartford, Hastings, Irving, Kalamazoo, Keeler, Mattawan, McDonald, Middleville, Otsego, Paw Paw, Plainwell, Portage, South Haven, Wayland, and Woodbury.

Heavy storms are moving out of the Chicago area and over Lake Michigan and are expected to move into southwest Michigan during the overnight hours. These storms have a history of producing very frequent lightning, strong winds, hail and heavy downpours. If a warning is issued in your area, take the proper precautions to stay safe and keep a flashlight nearby, should the power go out. Power outages have been reported in earlier severe storms that are a part of this system.

Stay with us for the latest severe weather updates.

More From WBCKFM